Academic Freedom & Tenure





Term of Service



Regular Members




1 John Rovers PH Thru May 2017
2 Todd Evans JO Thru May 2017
3  Ellen Ye LW Thru May 2017
4 Sally Frank LW Thru May 2018
5 Jody Swilky AS Thru May 2018
6 Sally Beisser ED Thru May 2016
7 Royce Fitchner BN Thru May 2016
Alternate Members
1 Rachel Paine AS Thru May 2018
2 Lee Jolliffe JO Thru May 2017
3 Brad Meyer BN Thru May 2018
4 Pramod Majajan PH Thru May 2017
5 Shelley Fairbairn ED Thru May 2016
6 Mark Stumme CO Thru May 2018
7 Larry Naylor AS Thru May 2016



Committee Description

The Committee shall be the adjudicatory body for cases and controversies relating to academic freedom and tenure which are not resolved through informal procedures or through regular administrative channels. The Committee shall have seven regular members and seven alternates. Members of the Committee and alternates shall be members of the Faculty of Instruction with tenure. The principle of broad representation shall be honored. The Committee shall elect the Committee Chair annually in December. Alternates shall be called to serve on the Committee in order of preference by the electing authority. If a member and his/her alternate are both unable to serve, the electing authority will select from among other alternates, giving preference to the one whose term will expire the same year as the member in whose place the alternate will serve. Committee members and alternates, except those selected for short terms to fill vacancies and first elected, shall serve three-year terms. The terms of office shall be staggered on a basis of three-two-two with annual election. (Academic Charter)


Wordpress Themes
Scroll to Top