University Curriculum Committee


  Name Unit Term of Service  
1 Todd Hodgkinson ED Thru May 2020 Vice-Chair 2017-2018
2 Carrie Dunham-LaGree CO Thru May 2018 Chair 2017-2018
3 Janet Wirth-Cauchon AS – Social Sciences Thru May 2020
4 Adina Kilpatrick AS – Natural Sciences Thru May 2020
5 Joan McAlistor AS – Humanities Thru May 2019
6 Maura Lyons AS – Fine Arts Thru May 2018
7 Michael Andreski PH Thru May 2019
8 Jill VanWyke JO Thru May 2020
9 Danielle Shelton LW Thru May 2018
10 Lisa Gardner BN Thru May 2018
11 Chrystal Stanley CAAD Thru May 2018  non-voting
Art Sanders Associate Provost


The University Curriculum Committee (UCC), a subcommittee of the Faculty Senate, will recommend educational policy for the University regarding proposals that involve campus-wide requirements or that have origins, requirements, or implications that go beyond the individual colleges. Individual colleges and schools retain authority over their own curricula and programs.

The UCC will approve new majors, minors, concentrations, and programs, graduate and undergraduate, and changes to existing majors, minors, concentrations, and programs, graduate and undergraduate that have cross-college origins, requirements, or implications. These proposals must be submitted to the Council of Academic and Administrative Departments (CAAD) for review and comment on potential cross-college implications before submission to the UCC.

The UCC will approve individual courses for the categories of the general education program and approve assessment procedures for the general education curriculum.

The UCC will make recommendations to the Faculty Senate, as appropriate, for revision of the general education curriculum.

The UCC will approve individual courses with interdisciplinary designations such as INTD.

The UCC will forward all committee actions to the Faculty Senate for inclusion in a provisional agenda. The Faculty Senate may, at its discretion, review these actions. All UCC decisions will proceed as directed by the UCC, unless a subsequent action by the Faculty Senate directs otherwise.

The UCC will have faculty representation from each of the divisions of the College of Arts and Sciences, each of the professional schools, and Cowles Library. One administrative representative from CAAD and an administrator designated by the Provost (normally the Associate or Vice Provost who is appointed Director of the Drake Curriculum by the Provost) will serve on the committee in an ex-officio capacity. Members serve three-year terms.

The committee will elect one chair and one vice-chair from the faculty members of the committee. The chair shall be a tenured faculty member. The vice-chair shall be liaison to the Drake Curriculum Analysis and Planning (DCAP) committee and shall, if tenured, serve as chair the following year

Revised March 2010 (committee description revised April 2007; May 2002)


© 2010 - Your Company Name
Wordpress Themes
Scroll to Top